NICA’S READING NOOK: CATCH 22

Drawing my own version of the book cover.
Drawing my own version of the book cover.

Like I promised, on my previous blogpost here on Nica’s Reading Nook (a corner I made for sharing my book adventures to fellow bookworms) I’ll be talking about Catch 22 by Joseph Heller.

Yossarian.

The main character of a fictional, satirical, comedy, war-related book. His misadventures and death-defying missions as a bombardier during the World War 2 in Pianosa, Italy. Along with his colleagues, who throughout the course of the story are becoming disillusioned and are in despair to finish their missions. Yet in whatever reason, or perhaps a cruel fate was in store for them has led their missions from 55 increased to 60 and continuously increasing at the whims of Colonel Carthart. Resorting to all sorts of desperate quests, even plotting to murder their Colonel, acting up sick, bribing doctors for a more terrible diagnosis, or even moving the bomb line to avoid the missions.

The story tackles with the uncertainty of life and death amidst the war. Superiority and corruption that nestles in the higher ranks, hand-washing their mistakes in order to blame their weaker counterparts and seeking fame and pomp for their name. The soldier’s desperation to end it all and be free to go home, get married and live their lives. The fact that the men do not know whether it might be their last day, last meal or their last laugh is driving them to the brink of their sanity. Although some had maintained their optimism that all will end well, sadly most of those with a positive spirit (*spoiler alert *) had their stories ended quite abruptly. Families of the dead, where torn by grief and the reaping of the benefits that they receive after their loved ones expired fighting for them.

Yossarian in all his might, had to endure the deaths of comrades, one by one leaving him with new soldiers recruited to the army, which I suppose was driving him mad. To tell you, I do admit that I initially found it boring since I am not familiar with military terms, which is why I was left stuck up on page 132 hehe. But since I started, I opted to finish it in order to complete my 2015 challenge. This book opened my eyes on what war can do and what it could destroy. A two-faced monster it is, as it could bring freedom on victory with the price of almost half of the valiant men died or on losing that brings more death. The author had patterned this story to our modern society, each character showcasing the different kinds of citizen America possesses (for this book), in which I believe all of us could possibly relate.

If you, perhaps have a passion on militaries, war and other topics that discuss our society’s image today. I think you’ll enjoy this 300 page book and if anyone of you have read the book, I would love to hear from you in the comments section below. Enjoy!

P.S. Up next is a book you can finish in a day and a book that was made into a movie 😁– If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Merci beaucoup et á bientôt!

