NICA’S READING NOOK: DIVERGENT SERIES

Veronica Roth’s debut novel was a big hit! It was almost like The Hunger Games but it was uniquely different as well.

” I will be my undoing If I become my obsession.” Excerpt on Abnegation Manifesto

Divergent. Five factions were started by the leaders after an almost disintegration of the city. The factions were the solution they found to save the system. Somehow, I think if I were to live in the system, I would be in the Amity compound hehe. Where everything is peaceful, happy and passive ugh. Abnegation would be my second choice but they are way too stiff, then Candor (too tactless), Dauntless (daredevils) lastly Erudite (know-it-alls). 😁😁😁 Might as well be divergent. LOL Kapal eh?!? Baka sa factionless ako mapunta. Haha

“Knowledge is the only logical solution to conflict. Ignorance must be used for the benefit of the society.” Excerpt on Erudite Manifesto

As it all turned out the factions were abolished, factionless ruled and their tyranny didn’t last long. They were experiments, live experiments by the Bureau. Guinea pigs for testings to cut out the genetically damaged from the pure ones. And their city wasn’t the only one.

“Trust. Self-Sufficiency. Forgiveness. Kindness.” Excerpt from the Amity Manifesto

The story has a lot mystery even from the beginning. A lot of secrets, hidden agenda, ulterior motives that revolved around the plot. I suppose this is what makes this book interesting. Your curiosity to find out why. I blame this book for my late nights & digusting eyebags lol.

“Dishonesty makes evil possible. Truth makes us inextricable.” Excerpt from the Candor Manifesto

But unlike all the books I’ve read this one has a sad ending. Oops! Spoiler alert. I just wished I could reverse the ending hehe. However the loss was powerful enough to leave a legacy from those behind. That factions do not define who we are, we do.

“We believe in freedom from fear, in ordinary acts of bravery, in defending those who cannot defend themselves.” Excerpt from the Dauntless Manifesto

What would your faction be? 😎

Merci beaucoup et Γ‘ bientΓ΄t!

P. S. Book set in high school– Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

