NICA’S READING NOOK: PRIDE & PREJUDICE

Hello readers! It’s been more than a week since I read a book. But now, I am back on track for the Reading Challenge after my Holy Week vacation in Bataan. What I crossed out now on my list is a book about classic romance and what better classic romance book to read that has a happy ending than Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Right? Let me give you a background on how I was encouraged to read classic novels.

Lady_1

If there is any genre in books that makes me sleepy, it is none other than classic books. Those books written in a century where women wore corsets and marriage (at 16 O_o) plays an important part for your position in society. But somehow, after watching Austenland (it’s a movie on a modern take of the book), I find myself looking for Pride and Prejudice in bookstores. Hahaha. Plus two of my good friends told me it was a good read and I am just so glad to do so.

After reading the book, I think I can say that Jane Austen is trying to promote in subtlety, women empowerment. It is very vital for a woman in her time to find a man suitable to sustain her living and build her own brood. Marriage is like the only hope a woman has, especially if she came from a family with no fortune. But in our heroine’s case, her view on marriage must be filled with love and not focused wealth, status or anything. Which is a good thing, because she found Mr. Darcy to be worth the wait despite a very bad start on both sides. Also, I find her personality very strong enough to shun a Lady of higher status and power *clap clap*.

Overall, this classic books aren’t so boring at all. I guess that depends on how you look at things. 🙂

Merci beaucoup et á bientôt!

P.S. Next is a popular author’s first book: Looking for Alaska by John Green

Leave a Reply

