Filter Free

Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the Lord, she shall be praised.

Proverbs 31:30

Processed with VSCOcam

If there was one thing I learned in my 20’s, that is to learn to love yourself. To accept your physical flaws, your limitations, and take pride of your capabilities. Loving one’s self and accepting how special and unique you are. How marvellously you are made from your mother’s womb to the you today.

Processed with VSCOcam

I never took pride of myself, neither did I regarded myself as a beautiful person. I was haunted by the greed to look good in order to feel good hence I was drowned in my own misery. A quick sand of misery in which I made for myself when I started to look in the mirror and say, “I am not beautiful.” I would look on the magazines, the television, on my pretty classmates and compare those that I don’t have.

Processed with VSCOcam

I don’t have a fair skin, nor a high nose, a small lips, or that straight, bouncy hair. I don’t have that slim body frame, that small face, a blemish free cheeks, that smooth, supple legs or a height that I craved for. I wasn’t the girl in my class who made boys turn their heads. I was just plain me.

Processed with VSCOcam

I used to not care of my outward appearance. I strongly believed that beauty should come from within. Sadly, in a world we live in, beauty on the outside is at times highly regarded. I will never forget how sharp words can pierce a soul, can flop my self-esteem to it’s lowest point. I will never forget how one teacher in my school told me behind my back of how ugly I looked. It deeply hurt, it cut through me and thus my quest to look beautiful began.

Processed with VSCOcam

I tried all the products I could. I wanted this and I wanted that. But the more I became greedy to earn man’s praise, the more I lost. I have learned the hard way and would not want others to feel the same. The world is cruel to people who aren’t gifted with the kind of beauty that the media fancies, yet I can see people who stand out on their own. They have learned to love themselves, to accept who they are, because God made them that way.

Processed with VSCOcam

It took me a long time, but with age comes maturity. I have learned and am still learning, how words can hurt a lot so you have to choose your words, how at a young age children should be taught that beauty is not only in the face but it comes with the heart, how confidence and loving one’s self is no sin, how accepting your flaws doesn’t mean you won’t improve and how important it is to know that every individual in this world is specially created by the One above.

Processed with VSCOcam

I don’t want to see the youth struggling to be accepted and called beautiful by the society. You don’t need their praises, all you need is yours and to have it deeply rooted within you that you are beautiful. You have been wonderfully made.

Merci beaucoup et á bientôt!

2 thoughts on “Filter Free

Leave a Reply

