Chocolate Chip Cookies

If you have been reading my previous blogs this month. You’ll notice that I seem to be a bit inclined with all things baking. So for today’s blogpost, I’ll be sharing my first experience on baking Chocolate Chip Cookies. I bought a lot of flour for Mum’s birthday cake and to make better use of it, I decided to make cookies. As they require more flour compared to brownies (or that depends on how chewy you want your cookies to be).

This recipe is from Hershey’s Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie. But I used a different kind of semi-sweet choco chips for this one (it is the only one I have on the cupboard :-P).

Chocolate Chip Cookies


2 and 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 stick of unsalted butter (what I used)

3/4 cup granulated sugar/table sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

250g of semi-sweet chocolate chips (you may lessen the amount depending on your taste)

Preheat oven to 375°F or 190.5°C. You may also opt to use your oven toaster, where there is no need to preheat.

In a bowl stir your flour, baking soda and salt and set aside. Beat your butter (softened), vanilla extract and sugars until creamy. Then add the eggs and beat well. Gradually add in your flour mixture, intermittently beating until well mixed. Then add in your chocolate chips and fold in the cookie dough.

Using a scoop or spoon place a dollop of cookie dough on an ungreased cookie sheet. If you are like me who has none of those, I opted to use an aluminum foil or a non stick pan (greased with butter). Make sure there is enough space for your cookie dough to expand, mine were too close. They sticked together like one pan of cookie.

If you are using the oven, bake your cookies for around 8 to`10 minutes or until lightly browned. If you will be using the oven toaster it would bake around 2.5 to 3 minutes, exceeding those would burn your cookies. I tried following the instructions on the oven toaster’s side where it said to bake within 3.5 to 4 minutes, my cookies ended turning black. >_<

After baking, let them cool before serving and enjoy!

I used both the oven and oven toaster to see which one did best. The oven toaster was quick, although I could only bake 3 cookies at a time. It would also make me consume more electricity if I solely used it. Unless you have a big one. For the oven, I was able to bake around 5 to 6 cookies at a time. Although I have to check it often. My oven is an old one with no heat gauge on it. So I had some baked at 8 minutes others at 6 minutes.

Overall, I like the oven baked cookies best. Probably because I had the best results there. Heehee.

In all shades of brown

So there you have it. Doesn’t matter if you got the first batch burnt. You can always do better next time!

Merci beaucoup et á bientôt!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

