The Halal Guys PH

If I would list down my top three favorite cuisines, it would be Filipino, Mexican and Middle Eastern. Usually our family’s go-to resto/fast food after a long walk/shopping at the mall would be Mexicali. Sadly, it was still under renovation. Thankfully, another food chain opened in the 5th floor of SM Megamall Fashion Food Hall. A world-famous gyro and falafel selling store. 😛 THE HALAL GUYS.

The first time it opened, the line was up to the escalator. o_O So, I told myself to wait for a few weeks more till the crowd subsides. After 3 or 4 weeks, (I guess) my family and I decided to give it a try. Well guess what, the line was still long but at least it was only up to area of the Food Hall.

The long line.
The long line.

It was hard to look for a table. Mum and I had to split ways, more of like “divide and conquer” strategy. After the table searching, it was a great idea by the staff of Halal Guys to get their client’s order while on line. So you only have to submit your order and they can work on it = less time on the counter.

Nom nom!
Nom nom!
Falafel over rice in New York Size
Falafel over rice in New York Size

The menu has four options: Gyro, Chicken, Falafel and Combo. Gyro is beef, Falafel is vegetables and Combo is a combination of two meats of your choice. All four could be served with rice or wrapped in a pita. I chose the Falafel, as I wanted to try what it tastes like. Let’s start with the pita. I liked the pita, not too stiff and soft just the right texture. I love it dipped in the sauce. It was the first thing I finished off in my platter. Next the veggies, they were fresh and are a perfect combo for the rice. Helps tame down any “umay” taste. For the rice, it was good, but I wouldn’t rave about it. It was a bit oily and I wasn’t able to finish it. The sauce was okay too, it fit well for the Falafel. Though, I thought that it might have a bit of a “garlicky” taste (which I liked), hehe, turns out to be a bit sweet. For the Falafel, it was hard in texture, the taste was alright but it goes better if dipped in the white sauce. In case you want it spicy, just ask for the red sauce, it is REALLY SPICY!

The Falafel over rice meal costs 329php with drinks. The Combo of Chicken and Gyro (my brother’s choice) costs 499php with drinks. I honestly was not able to finish my meal. 😦 The New York Size was huge and jam-packed, my tummy was filled. I got overexcited for a meal. Lesson learned: Don’t get what you can’t finish. Heehee. #bummer

Overall, the meal was filling and probably next time, I’ll have the smaller size and Chicken wrapped in Pita instead. In case you come across the Food Hall, try to give yourself a taste of Middle Eastern meal 😉

The Halal Guys
5L Mega Food Hall, SM Mega Fashion Hall, SM Megamall

Merci beaucoup et á bientôt!

Leave a Reply

