Buzzfeed’s Vegan Mac and Cheese

I love mac and cheese!! There is something comforting about that simple bowl of melted gooey cheese, topped with parsley or whatever green you can find. However, if you have been following me on my IG account, I am currently on a DIET. Yup, my goal this 2016 is to be fitter and by fitter that includes my meals.

Now, I still get to eat things I like and are considered “unhealthy” by some but I have to put things into moderation. Which is really a great deal for me. I lack moderation and my cravings are the worst possible you can imagine (now that’s exaggerating!). Good thing, I happen to watch most of Buzzfeed’s videos on Youtube. I came across their Vegan Macaroni and Cheese Recipe, which is really quite simple and trust me, you’ll love it too! Although there are some ingredients that I added to my liking.

Cheers to more healthier cravings!

Processed with VSCO
Nom! Nom!

Vegan Macaroni and Cheese

2 potatoes/ 4 if you are using small ones, peeled and chopped

1 carrot, peeled and chopped

1/4 of a white onion or an onion wedge

1/2- 1/4 cup of unsalted cashews

1 tsp of pepper

1 clove of garlic chopped or 1 tsp of garlic powder

Dash of cumin (optional)

1 tsp of salt-for the “cheese” mixture

1 tbsp of salt-for the Macaroni or any pasta of your choice

1 tbsp of Vegetable oil

Macaroni or any pasta of choice

Basil, paprika and thyme spices-for garnish (optional)

Boil your potatoes in a covered pot of water for about 2 minutes. Then add the carrots and boil (covered) for another 5 minutes. Add the white onion, break it and let it boil for another 7 minutes or until the potatoes and carrots are soft.

Lower your heat and draw the vegetables from the boiling water to a separate plate. Save the water.

In a separate pot, cook your pasta. Let the water boil then add the table spoon of salt and vegetable oil. Then add in the pasta. Cook uncovered for about 10-12 minutes or according the packaging’s instructions. Drain immediately once cooked and set aside.

For the “cheese” mixture, using a blender pour in the 1 1/2 cup of boiled  water, cashews, vegetables and seasonings. Blend until thick and creamy. Pour the “cheese” mixture to your macaroni, then serve with a dash or paprika, basil, and thyme. Bon Appetit!

Here is Buzzfeed’s video for the recipe:

 

Merci beaucoup et á bientôt!

Leave a Reply

