Fusili Basil Chicken

I just turned 24 yesterday! Oh, how time flies, and to celebrate my birthday I decided to make Fusili Basil Chicken. I love pasta dishes and I find them easier to cook than other dishes. I also love basil chicken, I remember having it in Thailand and my mum and I decided to recreate it here with our own twists and turns. Hope you enjoy this blog and try out the dish as well!

Fusili-Basil-Chicken

1/4 kilo of minced chicken
500g of Fusili pasta or any pasta of choice
2 cups of basil leaves
2 whole red bell pepper diced
1 whole red onion diced
1 whole garlic
1/2 cup of black olives sliced
1 can of mushroom sliced
1 teaspoon of honey with calamansi (use lemon as other option)
1/2 tablespoon of Kikkoman soy sauce (add if necessary)
1 cup of grated cheese (to be added later) separate a handful later
1 cup finely chopped nuts (optional)
3 hard boiled eggs sliced
Choice spices (example: thyme, rosemary, sage etc.)
Salt and pepper to taste

Cook pasta according to instructions, drain and put aside.

In a mortar, mash the garlic and green chilis, then stir fry in a pan with oil on medium high. Add onions until slightly browned then add the minced chicken. Add a teaspoon of pepper and mix well until cooked. Add your choice spices and 1/2 tablespoon of Kikkoman soy sauce. Mix well.

Add the teaspoon of honey with calamansi or lemon. Stir for a few minutes then add the bell pepper, olives and mushrooms. Taste if you need to add salt. Then stir until slightly cooked, add the basil on low heat. Make sure to not overcook the basil leaves. Then toss your basil chicken on the pasta in a separate bowl, add a handful of grated cheese then mix well. Plate and top it with finely chopped nuts and grated cheese. Serve while hot.

2016-10-08-11-13-34-12016-10-08-11-13-43-1

We had a sumptuous meal and I am glad my brother loved it! He is quite a critic with his meal. I hope you find this recipe interesting and give it a try as well, try adding more spices depending on what suits your taste. Once again, happy birthday to me and thank you to my dear readers!

Merci beaucoup et á bientôt!

Leave a Reply

