Forced Detox

*Disclaimer: This post is not to malign or uplift any brand name written below. This post is written based on my experience and how I only perceive the matter.*

I have always been hooked to technology and social media. As bad as it may sound, it is true. I always find myself wasting hours away while scrolling on Facebook, watching stories on Instagram, or tweeting on Twitter and pinning on my Pinterest boards. It is very entertaining though. In a way that it occupies so much of my life. Something like those memes you see where you get so glued in your phone and lose the real touch around you. Sadly true. 😞 😞 😞

I am pretty sure that you are too or at least some of you are struggling or may not notice of this situation in your lives. But something happened just in the past few weeks that really forced me into a technology and social media detox.   A week after our semestral break from school my Samsung (Note 3 Neo) suddenly couldn’t read my sim cards. I tried restarting it, shutting it down, and even searched what were the possible causes. Some said the slots might be dirty and needed cleaning. Others pointed out software malfunction. 😳 😳 😳

14963097_10205962577423958_1959384833_n
Behold the phone and it’s battle scars.
I was in a frantic panic mode when I suddenly realized that I might have the same situation as my boyfriend’s phone. It was still usable when it is connected to wifi. Which means, it’ll work like a tablet. I thought it was fine since I do own a pocket wifi and so I would just need an ordinary phone to use for calling and texting.

The situation didn’t bother me that much as I have still continuous access to tech and social media. Although, it was irritating to carry around several devices and juggling around three is nasty! This is why I owned a dual sim phone to avoid carrying two. I could only imagine the vloggers and how they handle such tech, kudos to them!

Despite that, I was still okay. When all of a sudden in just a few days after my phone’s keyboard suddenly didn’t work and if it did, it took 5 minutes per letter as I type to show on screen. πŸ˜– πŸ˜– πŸ˜– I felt hopeless on it and really pissed too. I clung onto my spare phone instead and plainly used texting and calling. For social media I only used the laptop.

Since I couldn’t bring the laptop around all the time. I was forced to get out of the house without my Samsung. This means no FB, IG, music, Google. Nothing of those. Even in my work at home I just ended doodling words and playing word games on my free time. My only touch to social media was after work. When I can finally use the laptop, which rarely happened as my brother uses it as well for school.😩 😩 😩

Then just last Thursday night. After having days of detox, my parents surprised me of a choice to buy a new phone. I was thinking Android, they were thinking IOS. I was surprised to hear from Dad that we are going to buy the iPhone SE. From my previous experiences, I really think Android is more user friendly than Apple. Although we do have an iPad and Macbook, my phone is still on the Android side. ALL THE TIME.

So when we bought it. I said “we” cause my dad didn’t paid for it all, I had to pitch in and so did mum. I really felt blessed, because I was hoping to buy a new phone on my own next year and an Android too. I also thought of availing a plan and pay for it monthly. Then this happened, my inner child was jumping and crying for joy. 😳 😁 πŸ˜‚

We bought the 64GB iPhone SE cause the 6 and 6Plus were too big for me. I have medium to tiny hands and based on my experience, I have a habit of dropping phones. 😡 😡 😡 So going small was okay. πŸ‘ŒπŸ»πŸ‘ŒπŸ»πŸ‘ŒπŸ»

14961487_10205962577303955_70962177_n14958718_10205962577223953_1991528226_n14958414_10205962586384182_1347419630_n14996303_10205962586344181_346265983_n

But even with the new phone. The biggest lesson I learned is to prioritize. Don’t let technology and social media dictate you. Have a detox every once in a while and learn to balance. Most of all, always put God first.
Merci beaucoup et a bientΓ΄t!

2 thoughts on “Forced Detox

  1. Congratulations on your new phone, Nica! I had the same experience too with my dinosaur iPhone4 which took forever to load web pages. Not to mention, its apps were also constantly crashing. I’m losing my patience whenever I’m using it, so my husband decided to get me a new phone. This time, I got an android – chose Samsung over Iphone simply because of the camera’s quality. Iphone’s very expensive and iOS is just not for me (we’ve never become friends even after 3 years of being together, lol!). Nevertheless, I’m hoping that you’re loving your new baby!

    Like

Leave a Reply

