General Tso Style Tofu

First of, the original recipe of this is from Olivia of Liv’s Healthy Life Channel on Youtube. You may want to check out her recipes and bento boxes especially if you happen to be a vegetarian. She makes simple vegan recipes that looks sumptuous for everyone’s consumption. When I encountered this recipe, I wanted to do it and improvise on some parts of the recipe where I don’t have any in our kitchen cupboard.

Here is how I did it and at the end of this blog is the video of Liv’s version of the recipe.

General-Tso-Style-Tofu

1 tomato, sliced
1 green chili, diced
1 whole cut of tofu (sliced into small cubes)
Handful of basil leaves

Sauce:
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp honey (for vegans use maple syrup)
1/2 tbsp of hot sauce (I used Tabasco)
1/2 tbsp of ketchup
2 small cloves of garlic, diced or 1/4 tsp garlic powder
2 small strips of ginger, diced or 1/4 tsp grated ginger

Simply combine all sauce ingredients and set aside. In a pan stir fry your cubed tofu with either water or oil. Add in the tomato and chili and stir fry for a minute or two. Add water to sauce it up and flour to thicken it. Then add the Tso Sauce you set aside. Season with some salt and pepper. Then add the basil leaves. Stir until cooked then serve on top of a cup of white rice while hot.

15058700_10206021571818781_396821169_n-1

If you would be watching Liv’s version, she used bell peppers, snow peas and bean sprouts. But sadly, I don’t have those available at the cupboard when I decided to cook this. So I had to replace it with tomatoes, chili, and basil. I also replaced the maple syrup with honey making this not a completely vegan recipe. Another is that I used fresh diced ginger and garlic instead of the powdered and grated version. But all in all, my family did enjoy the meal and fully satisfied with it. I hope to cook more and learn more in the days to come.

Liv’s version of the recipe:

 

Merci beaucoup et á bientôt!

Leave a Reply

