Garlic Aglio Olio Pasta

It seems that all of my posts this week are about food. Huehue. Well, who wouldn’t love food? It is the way to almost everyone’s hearts. Heehee. Though, I am no chef or culinary student, if there is one thing consistent that I know is that practice makes it perfect. I am truly thankful for the recipes posted online and they are truly helpful for people like me. Haha.

I followed this recipe from Youtube when I was just really hungry and craving for easy to make pasta recipes. I chanced on this video, looked for the ingredients on our kitchen, tweaked some of the ingredients not available to my own. Ta da! My own aglio olio recipe:

Garlic Aglio Olio Pasta

1 pound dry spaghetti

 

salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

 

6 cloves garlic, sliced thin

 

1/2 cup olive oil

 

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, or to taste

 

1 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese (but I don’t have that so I used cheddar instead)

 

Spices of basil, thyme, marjoram, sage and rosemary

 

Infuse your garlic with the olive oil and set aside. Cook your pasta lightly salted on boiling water according to the instructions on the label. Save at least a cup of the boiled pasta water and drain. Set aside.

On a separate cool pan, pour your garlic and infused oil and cook on low medium heat for 10 minutes. You will want to slowly brown your garlic, so keep a watchful eye. When the olive oil bubbles, lower the heat until your garlic becomes golden brown. Turn off the heat and add the pasta water so the garlic won’t burn.

On your pasta add the spices, salt, pepper and chili flakes. Mix well then add the garlic olive oil. Toss until well coated then add half of the grated cheese. Serve with additional spices on top and more cheese.

ad86ba77-49b3-4841-be66-2339c0353e74
I used extra virgin olive oil
02b3dea6-3256-42e6-8ec0-3fdeb4a5db0f
Spices! This is not sponsored by McCormick btw.

c2d9d469-2c5e-4102-aa3b-86296f7857ac

71f89eba-a7d8-4732-9866-9686a2f71212
Cheddar Cheese
6834a4e3-e026-455a-a100-5893843d3720
This is what I meant when infusing the garlic with olive oil
1fb77fc4-a4be-4f34-9209-4cbdbcde8e1d
I really tried to thinly slice them though.
681edb61-604b-4043-ad3a-13456cc0d557
Ta da!!

And there you go peeps! I am glad my dad loved it. For other variations you may add spanish style sardines and olives. Here below is the video where I got the recipe.

 

Merci beaucoup et á bientôt!

Leave a Reply

